Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th July 2017, 02:49 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxchrome
Handbreak will not install!

Hi, I have downloaded source code and ran it threw terminal under tat -jxvf -file- -C /opt

Then after that, rooted it and ran ./configure and it said that i need gm4. I looked online. I can't find **** online. I need help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th July 2017, 04:07 AM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,569
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Quote:
ran ./configure and it said that i need gm4
If you can give the exact messages that configure outputs, that may help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2017, 04:16 AM
ocratato Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,631
linuxfirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Do you mean Handbrake ?

gm4 is, I think, the Gnu version of m4 which should have been installed with the development tools

Did you install the dependencies:
https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/...es-fedora.html

Can you post the actual messages, preferably from config.log ?
__________________
Has anyone seriously considered that it might be turtles all the way down?
That's very old fashioned thinking.
The current model is that it's holographic nested virtualities of turtles, all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th July 2017, 04:18 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Code:
[root@torrent-downloader ~]# cd '/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7' 
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./cofigure
-bash: ./cofigure: No such file or directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./cofig
-bash: ./cofig: No such file or directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./con
configure  contrib/   
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./configure
probe: host tuple...(pass) x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
compute: available architectures...(pass) x86_64
find: ar...(pass) /usr/bin/ar
find: cp...(pass) /usr/bin/cp
find: gcc...(pass) /usr/bin/gcc
find: gmake...(pass) /usr/bin/gmake
find: gm4...(fail) not found
  : name[0] = gm4
  : name[1] = m4
ERROR: unable to continue; configure stop.
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]#
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th July 2017, 04:46 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Alright got ./configure to work. After installing those dev files. Now I am not able to use make command or .build
Code:
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./configure 
probe: host tuple...(pass) x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
compute: available architectures...(pass) x86_64
find: ar...(pass) /usr/bin/ar
find: cp...(pass) /usr/bin/cp
find: gcc...(pass) /usr/bin/gcc
find: gmake...(pass) /usr/bin/gmake
find: gm4...(pass) /usr/bin/m4
find: mkdir...(pass) /usr/bin/mkdir
find: gpatch...(pass) /usr/bin/patch
find: rm...(pass) /usr/bin/rm
find: ranlib...(pass) /usr/bin/ranlib
find: strip...(pass) /usr/bin/strip
find: gtar...(pass) /usr/bin/gtar
find: yasm...(fail) not found
find: autoconf...(pass) /usr/bin/autoconf
find: automake...(pass) /usr/bin/automake
find: cmake...(fail) not found
find: libtool...(pass) /usr/bin/libtool
find: pkg-config...(pass) /usr/bin/pkg-config
find: xcodebuild...(fail) not found
find: lipo...(fail) not found
compute: build tuple...(pass) x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
probe: number of CPU cores...(pass) 2
probe: repo info...(fail) code 128
probe: version.txt...(fail)
compute: project data...(pass) HandBrake (release)
note: enabling local yasm: missing system yasm
note: enabling local cmake
probe: strerror_r...(pass) end
compute: makevar SRC/    = ..
compute: makevar BUILD/  = .
compute: makevar PREFIX/ = /usr/local
mkdir: ./build
chdir: ./build
write: GNUmakefile
mkdir: project
write: project/handbrake.m4
write: distfile.cfg
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Build is configured!
You may now cd into ./build and run make (/usr/bin/gmake).
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./builf
-bash: ./builf: No such file or directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./build
-bash: ./build: Is a directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# make install
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th July 2017, 05:04 AM
ocratato Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,631
linuxfirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

You need to pay closer attention to the messages produced by programs.
You need to cd into the build directory before running make. The make command didn't work because you did not use cd to change directory into build.

Normally you do the build as a normal user, and the final "make install" as root (using sudo).
Building as the root user might mess up your system if happens to all go wrong.
__________________
Has anyone seriously considered that it might be turtles all the way down?
That's very old fashioned thinking.
The current model is that it's holographic nested virtualities of turtles, all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th July 2017, 05:06 AM
hiGuys Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 362
linuxfirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Quote:
Code:
Build is configured! You may now cd into ./build and run make (/usr/bin/gmake).
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./builf
-bash: ./builf: No such file or directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# ./build
-bash: ./build: Is a directory
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
[root@torrent-downloader HandBrake-1.0.7]# make install
It appears you did not cd into ./build before attempting to run make

Edit - Ocratato beat me to it
__________________
Mind the gap.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th July 2017, 05:19 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

thank you! Lol haha stupid me
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th July 2017, 05:30 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Wow lovely day. I am having just for installing one damn program. I got another error
Code:
[root@torrent-downloader build]# make
set -e; cd ./contrib/ffmpeg/libav-12/; CC=/usr/bin/gcc CFLAGS="-I/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/include -std=gnu99 -mfpmath=sse -msse2" CXX=/usr/bin/g++ CXXFLAGS="-I/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/include -mfpmath=sse -msse2" CPPFLAGS="-I/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/include -mfpmath=sse -msse2" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/lib " PKG_CONFIG_PATH="/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/lib/pkgconfig" PATH="/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/bin:/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/root/bin" ./configure --prefix=/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/ --disable-shared --enable-static --enable-gpl --disable-doc --disable-bsfs --enable-bsf=aac_adtstoasc --disable-avconv --disable-avplay --disable-avprobe --disable-avdevice --disable-muxers --disable-network --disable-hwaccels --disable-vaapi --disable-vdpau --disable-encoders --enable-libmp3lame --enable-encoder=aac --enable-encoder=ac3 --enable-encoder=eac3 --enable-encoder=flac --enable-encoder=mpeg2video --enable-encoder=mpeg4 --enable-encoder=libmp3lame --enable-libopus --enable-encoder=libopus --enable-libvpx --enable-encoder=libvpx_vp8 --disable-decoder=libvpx_vp8 --enable-encoder=libvpx_vp9 --disable-decoder=libvpx_vp9 --enable-zlib --enable-bzlib --enable-pthreads --cc="/usr/bin/gcc" --extra-ldflags="-mfpmath=sse -msse2 -L/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/lib" --enable-muxer=matroska --enable-muxer=webm --enable-muxer=mov --enable-muxer=mp4 --enable-muxer=psp --enable-muxer=ipod --disable-debug --extra-cflags="-mfpmath=sse -msse2 -I/opt/HandBrake-1.0.7/build/contrib/include -DNDEBUG"
ERROR: libmp3lame >= 3.98.3 not found

If you think configure made a mistake, make sure you are using the latest
version from Git.  If the latest version fails, report the problem to the
libav-tools@libav.org mailing list or IRC #libav on irc.freenode.net.
Include the log file "config.log" produced by configure as this will help
solving the problem.
../contrib/ffmpeg/module.rules:2: recipe for target 'contrib/ffmpeg/.stamp.configure' failed
make: *** [contrib/ffmpeg/.stamp.configure] Error 1
[root@torrent-downloader build]#


---------- Post added at 04:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:28 AM ----------

Yeah I thought about using sudo instead of su -. It's a good idea your right and will keep that i mind. thanks you :-D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th July 2017, 06:01 AM
ocratato Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,631
linuxfirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Building a program with a lot of dependencies is always a bit fraught.
Why are you trying to build it, rather than installing from the repositories, or a pre-built rpm ?

The fedora system doesn't normally include mp3 support, and thus provides a version of ffmpeg without libmp3lame - this probably confused their configure script.

You might have to get the development version of that library from one of the alternate repositories, or build it from source.
__________________
Has anyone seriously considered that it might be turtles all the way down?
That's very old fashioned thinking.
The current model is that it's holographic nested virtualities of turtles, all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th July 2017, 06:32 AM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxchrome
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Do you known where i can get that. New to linux and fedora in general.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th July 2017, 01:14 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,119
linuxfirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Firstly, can you do without the GUI? That removes a lot of dependencies.
If you add the rpmfusion repos https://rpmfusion.org/Configuration all you have to do is run sudo dnf install HandBrake-gui


If you don't need the GUI, then just dnf install HandBrake.

As far as development libraries, you'll see that some packages come with -devel version, for example there's a libX11 package which supplies some needed libraries, but also libX11-devel which includes header files and the like.
So, if, for example, you had lame installed and get the message like you have above, and you have lame-libs installed, you might also need lame-devel.

But short answer, unless there's a reason you're building it from source, you can get it from rpmfusion.

They used to include an INSTALL text file giving dependencies, but now you have to wander around their site.
https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.0.0/d...ild-linux.html and from there go to the Fedora section.

You probably don't need everything in development libraries and development tools, but if you're a beginner, as you said you are, it will definitely save time.

Last edited by smr54; 9th July 2017 at 01:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th July 2017, 11:04 PM
Linuxdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Korea J/K
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Handbreak will not install!

Yeah I don't mind command line apps. I honestly prefer it. It gives me a challenge figuring out. All of the command prompts. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th July 2017, 01:58 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,119
linuxchrome
Re: Handbreak will not install!

I prefer its command line version. I tried to build it today on Fedora 26 beta, and it went smoothly. I don't have all development tools and libraries installed, but it was fine.

Another useful tool can be dnf provides. For example, if you do build and you see whatever.so.1 not found, you can run dnf depends whatever.so.1 and you'll get back the name of the rpm providing that.

Anyway, if you can't get it built, as mentioned, the rpmfusion repos have it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
handbreak, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install f21 beta on asus m5a99x mobo - ERROR - for a UEFI install need GPT disk floydsmith Hardware & Laptops 0 26th November 2014 09:47 PM
Install Experience needed to install Fedora 7 on HP tx1000 series laptop jiabo Hardware & Laptops 33 6th May 2010 12:23 PM
How to recover corrupted F10 install (Failed upgrade process via install media) lordamus Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 30th October 2009 11:47 AM
Is it possible to install GUI's, install browsers, install IP addresses? booter Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 13th June 2007 11:40 PM
FC4 DVD Install - Unable to get past Select Driver option for Local CDROM install flashgordon EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 28th February 2006 06:54 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:19 (Tuesday, 26-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat