<---- template headericclude ----->
[SOLVED] Fedora iso boot
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Fedora iso boot

    Hi, im trying to boot iso with grub2 but i cant make it boot.
    Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_Beta-1.iso

    Is it possible to to this? Anyone tried?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Yes it is possible, but quite cryptic and cumbersome to do it from GRUB2 prompt for example.

    this might work, haven't tested, but I have something like this in /etc/grub.d/40_custom

    In GRUB2 prompt:
    Code:
    insmod loopback
    insmod iso9660
    insmod udf
    
    # Assumed your iso-image is on the usb stick which is (hd1) for Grub2. It may not be so.
    loopback loop (hd1,0)/Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_Beta-1.iso
    
    # here you can try to examine what Grub2 has found if it succeeded to loop-mount that iso
    ls (loop)/<tab>
    
    # In case you have UEFI-PC. If BIOS machine, or in BIOS-mode, then linuxefi = linux, and initrdefi = initrd
    linuxefi (loop)/syslinux/vmlinuz0 root=live:CDLABEL=LIVE rootfstype=auto ro rd.live.image rd.live.check
    initrdefi (loop)/syslinux/initrd0.img
    
    boot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    I got it to boot another way but i have a new problem.
    I can mount all partitions of the hard drive but the strange thing is
    i cant get the installer to detect the hard drive.

    What can i do?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    I am using a 64 bit UEFI machine. The iso files are at the top level on partition 11.
    The UUID of that partition is obtained using blkid.
    The following entries in grub.cfg work:
    Code:
    menuentry 'Install Fedora 23 Beta' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod loopback
    	set isofile=Fedora-Workstation-netinst-x86_64-23_Beta.iso
    	loopback loop (hd0,gpt11)/$isofile
    	set root=(loop)
    	linuxefi /images/pxeboot/vmlinuz inst.stage2=hd:UUID=********-****-****-****-************:/$isofile inst.lang=en_GB.UTF-8 inst.keymap=uk quiet
    	initrdefi /images/pxeboot/initrd.img
    }
    
    menuentry 'Live Fedora 23 Beta' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod loopback
    	set isolabel=Fedora-Live-WS-x86_64-23_B-1
    	set isofile=Fedora-Live-Workstation-x86_64-23_Beta-1.iso
    	loopback loop (hd0,gpt11)/$isofile
    	set root=(loop)
    	linuxefi /isolinux/vmlinuz0 iso-scan/filename=$isofile root=live:LABEL=$isolabel ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb
    	initrdefi /isolinux/initrd0.img
    }
    Adjust the inst.lang and inst.keymap kernel parameters for your location.
    You will need to add the loopback module to the ESP so that Grub can find it
    Code:
    # dnf install grub2-efi-modules
    # mkdir /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/x86_64-efi
    # cp /usr/lib/grub/x86_64-efi/loopback.mod /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/x86_64-efi
    I can also confirm that the netinst iso is not finding my 'Local Standard Disk'.
    I am currently looking into that. If you find anything, please let us know.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    I finally got it to work with this configuration.

    Code:
    menuentry 'Live Fedora 23 Beta' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod loopback
    	set isolabel=Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_B-1
    	set isofile=Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_Beta-1.iso
    	loopback loop (hd0,4)/$isofile
    	set root=(loop)
    	linux /isolinux/vmlinuz0 iso-scan/filename=$isofile root=live:LABEL=$isolabel ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb
    	initrd /isolinux/initrd0.img
    }
    It found my hard drive and all worked fine during installation process.

    But booting from USB media with the same image did not work, no hard drive found in installer.
    It might be some bug affecting there also even it was not netinstaller i used.

    Thanks for your help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Your USB-media has which filesystem?
    Grub may not have the right modules installed without "insmod <module>" .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Quote Originally Posted by zimon
    Your USB-media has which filesystem?
    Grub may not have the right modules installed without "insmod <module>" .
    It was formatted with fat32 using insmod but i did not manage to get it working...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    My bug has just been closed as NOTABUG.on the pretext that the storage hardware the installer is on cannot be used to install to despite the fact that I have done precisely that since Fedora 20.
    There is no logical reason for this, what would appear to be, new restriction.
    If I understand you correctly, Nordicruler, you have installed successfully with the live iso to the same disk that contained the live iso?.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    I have 4 primary partitions on my only hard drive and sda4 contains the live iso.
    Fedora 23 beta is now successfully installed on sda3.

    Code:
    /dev/sda1: LABEL="System Reserved" UUID="F85A988B5A9847F0" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="d0e3722e-01"
    /dev/sda2: LABEL="Main" UUID="6EEC7AE4EC7AA64D" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="d0e3722e-02"
    /dev/sda3: UUID="9bbff56f-8bba-4be3-b165-c8c3d39c7368" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="d0e3722e-03"
    /dev/sda4: UUID="f3509f2b-477d-44e6-beb7-7828973728c0" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="d0e3722e-04"
    Code:
    menuentry 'Live Fedora 23 Beta' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod loopback
    	set isolabel=Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_B-1
    	set isofile=Fedora-Live-KDE-x86_64-23_Beta-1.iso
    	loopback loop (hd0,4)/$isofile
    	set root=(loop)
    	linux /isolinux/vmlinuz0 iso-scan/filename=$isofile root=live:LABEL=$isolabel ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb
    	initrd /isolinux/initrd0.img
    }
    Last edited by Nordicruler; 24th October 2015 at 01:34 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    The most difficult thing above would be to guess what is isolabel.
    How did you get that information?

    There should be some standard or guideline how CD/DVD labels are named in Fedora LIVE-isos. Why couldn't their LABELs be just "LIVE" as I've seen in some live-isos.
    Guessing from isofile-name wouldn't be successful. How to know "Beta-1" becomes "B_1"?

    Mounting the iso first would ofcourse tell the LABEL and also the path where vmlinuz0 and initrd0.img are. Mounting, I guess, can be done in GRUB-prompt and then see the path, but the CD/DVD label cannot seen in GRUB-prompt I think.

    Why grub cannot just use what ever CD/DVD-label it finds? Why it needs both "iso-scan/filename" and "root=live:LABEL" and yet third time to tell we are working on LIVE-image here: "rd.live.image" ? Or actually, it is not GRUB which is so picky and needs those all, but kernel.
    Last edited by zimon; 24th October 2015 at 11:09 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Nordicruler: Thanks for that. Perhaps we can get Redhat to see sense eventually.
    Zimon: for example:
    Code:
    # losetup /dev/loop0 Fedora-Workstation-netinst-x86_64-22.iso
    # blkid /dev/loop0
    /dev/loop0: UUID="2015-05-21-23-34-18-00" LABEL="Fedora-22-x86_64" TYPE="iso9660" PTUUID="51a721b5" PTTYPE="dos"
    # losetup -d /dev/loop0
    Last edited by kldixon; 24th October 2015 at 11:06 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Those parameters on the line beginning 'linux' ar kernel parameters. Grub does nothing with them. They are handed to the kernel which then hands them to whatever init program is run.in the initrd.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    There is still a question, how to tell the CD/DVD-label if all you have is a USB-stick which has Grub2 and the ISO-file on the same USB-stick, and then empty hard disk or SSD.

    I've quite often been in such a situation, and always I had ended up installing the live image in some other machine. Of course initially I downloaded the live images to this usb-stick in some other working OS, but would be nice to have several different LIVE isos on a USB-stick and try them all selecting from a GRUB prompt.

    Breaking the kernel parameters in pieces and trying to understand all what is passed:
    linux /isolinux/vmlinuz0 iso-scan/filename=$isofile root=live:LABEL=$isolabel ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb
    rhgb = redhat graphical boot - This is a GUI mode booting screen with most of the information hidden while the user sees a rotating activity icon spining and brief information as to what the computer is doing. [1]

    quiet = hides the majority of boot messages before rhgb starts. These are supposed to make the common user more comfortable. They get alarmed about seeing the kernel and initializing messages, so they hide them for their comfort. [1]

    iso-scan/filename
    Using iso-scan/filename with a Fedora/Red Hat/CentOS Live iso should
    just work by copying the original kernel cmdline parameters. [2]
    (But what does it do and who uses this information?)

    root=<path to blockdevice>
    specify the block device to use as the root filesystem. [2]
    (OK, kernel needs to know where the root-fs is.)

    ro
    force mounting / and /usr (if it is a separate device) read-only.
    If none of ro and rw is present, both are mounted according to
    /etc/fstab. [2]

    rd.live.image
    ???
    (Tells root-fs is in live media. Kernel needs this information why? It already knows this from "root=" parameter where is "live:")
    In dracut's parse-dmsquash-live.sh [3] there is something about this. Quickly checking the shell code [3] seem to me the "rd.live.image" is unnecessary redundant information.


    [1] https://www.redhat.com/archives/rhl-.../msg07775.html
    [2] http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man7...cmdline.7.html
    [3] https://code.openhub.net/file?fid=pA...lected=true#L0

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    45
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Fedora iso boot

    Yes lets hope so, you are welcome kldixon

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to Boot Fedora 19 Installation Media: UEFI + Secure Boot
    By Steinmeister in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th December 2013, 12:59 AM
  2. NTFS boot partition unable to boot after shrinking from Fedora Live CD
    By mccollou in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th October 2011, 08:41 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th July 2010, 04:23 PM
  4. How to install fedora 12 from USB and make dual boot BCD using Windows 7 boot loader
    By evildesirez in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th January 2010, 06:56 PM
  5. Rebuilding the Grub Boot Loader on Master Boot Record (MBR) w Fedora Linux
    By Vector in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st August 2009, 08:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]