Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th January 2013, 05:19 PM
Jann5s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
[Solved][F18] Can't get past first question (language)

Hi,


I'm trying to install FC18 from a (gnome) livecd, and the Continue button in the installer does not seem to be working, no matter which language I select, or how many times I press the button, the installer (anaconda?) does not proceed to the second question.

The system is a Lenovo x301 laptop (intel c2d), the live cd boots fine.

Can I provide some additional info, atm it doesn't throw any errors, making it hard to pinpoint the origin.

Last edited by Jann5s; 16th January 2013 at 01:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th January 2013, 08:11 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,704
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jann5s View Post
I'm trying to install FC18 from a (gnome) livecd, and the Continue button in the installer does not seem to be working, no matter which language I select, or how many times I press the button, the installer (anaconda?) does not proceed to the second question.

The system is a Lenovo x301 laptop (intel c2d), the live cd boots fine.

Can I provide some additional info, atm it doesn't throw any errors, making it hard to pinpoint the origin.
I am taking a wild guess here. If you press CTRL+ALT+Fn where Fn is F1 or F2 or F3, it will lead to different VTs. Perhaps, there are error messages there?

Also, did you verify that the image download was good? Checksum verifications?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th January 2013, 08:22 PM
Andabata Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

Same problem here for KDE Live:

/usr/bin/liveinst
localuser:root being added to access control list
Starting installer, one moment...
anaconda 18.37.11 for Fedora 18 started.
Exception in thread AnaNetworkThread:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/threading.py", line 551, in __bootstrap_inner
self.run()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/threads.py", line 95, in run
sys.excepthook(*sys.exc_info())
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/meh/handler.py", line 162, in <lambda>
sys.excepthook = lambda ty, value, tb: self.handleException((ty, value, tb), obj)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/exception.py", line 82, in handleException
(ty, value, tb), obj)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/meh/handler.py", line 108, in handleException
win = self.intf.mainExceptionWindow(str(self.exn), self.exnText)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 188, in mainExceptionWindow
lightbox = AnacondaWidgets.lb_show_over(self._currentAction.w indow)
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'window'


(anaconda:2964): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_model_filter_get_path: assertion `GTK_TREE_MODEL_FILTER (model)->priv->stamp == iter->stamp' failed

(anaconda:2964): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_get_toplevel: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed

(anaconda:2964): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_get_toplevel: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed

(anaconda:2964): Gtk-WARNING **: Overriding tab label for notebook
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 77, in <lambda>
self.window.connect("continue-clicked", lambda *args: self._on_continue_clicked(cb))
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/welcome.py", line 287, in _on_continue_clicked
StandaloneSpoke._on_continue_clicked(self, cb)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 73, in _on_continue_clicked
cb()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 234, in _on_continue_clicked
nextAction = self._instantiateAction(self._actions[1])
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 77, in _instantiateAction
obj = actionClass(self.data, self.storage, self.payload, self.instclass)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 1091, in __init__
self.network_control_box.hostname = self.data.network.hostname
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 960, in hostname
self.entry_hostname.set_text(value)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gi/types.py", line 47, in function
return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
TypeError: Argument 1 does not allow None as a value
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th January 2013, 08:59 PM
Jann5s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

I did verify the iso, actually, I used the same iso to install on a second laptop where everything worked fine.

I did look at the Ctrl-Alt-F3 I can't remember it showing any errors. The reason why I'm not checking again is because I downloaded the network install iso, from which I'm currently installing FC18, all seems to be going well.

I will try to run: /usr/bin/liveinst from a terminal (from the live-cd), after the install finished, hopefully I can get some (similar) errors from that.

Last edited by Jann5s; 15th January 2013 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th January 2013, 09:02 PM
Jann5s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

I'm on to something here.

The laptop has a hardware switch for the wireless on the back, when I boot the live-cd with the wireless on, I can't continue, when I reboot the live-cd with the wireless switched off, I can continue. This is reproducable, and it doesn't matter if I use the button presented to me at login, or if I use /usr/bin/liveinst, however the latter option allows me to copy paste the errors

here is the output for "with wireless on":

Code:
[liveuser@localhost ~]$ /usr/bin/liveinst 
localuser:root being added to access control list
Starting installer, one moment...
anaconda 18.37.11 for Fedora 18 started.
Exception in thread AnaNetworkThread:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/threading.py", line 551, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/threads.py", line 95, in run
    sys.excepthook(*sys.exc_info())
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/meh/handler.py", line 162, in <lambda>
    sys.excepthook = lambda ty, value, tb: self.handleException((ty, value, tb), obj)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/exception.py", line 82, in handleException
    (ty, value, tb), obj)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/meh/handler.py", line 108, in handleException
    win = self.intf.mainExceptionWindow(str(self.exn), self.exnText)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 188, in mainExceptionWindow
    lightbox = AnacondaWidgets.lb_show_over(self._currentAction.window)
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'window'


(anaconda:2298): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_model_filter_get_path: assertion `GTK_TREE_MODEL_FILTER (model)->priv->stamp == iter->stamp' failed

(anaconda:2298): Gtk-WARNING **: Overriding tab label for notebook
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 77, in <lambda>
    self.window.connect("continue-clicked", lambda *args: self._on_continue_clicked(cb))
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/welcome.py", line 287, in _on_continue_clicked
    StandaloneSpoke._on_continue_clicked(self, cb)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 73, in _on_continue_clicked
    cb()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 234, in _on_continue_clicked
    nextAction = self._instantiateAction(self._actions[1])
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 77, in _instantiateAction
    obj = actionClass(self.data, self.storage, self.payload, self.instclass)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 1091, in __init__
    self.network_control_box.hostname = self.data.network.hostname
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 960, in hostname
    self.entry_hostname.set_text(value)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gi/types.py", line 47, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
TypeError: Argument 1 does not allow None as a value

(anaconda:2298): Gtk-WARNING **: Overriding tab label for notebook
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 77, in <lambda>
    self.window.connect("continue-clicked", lambda *args: self._on_continue_clicked(cb))
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/welcome.py", line 287, in _on_continue_clicked
    StandaloneSpoke._on_continue_clicked(self, cb)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/__init__.py", line 73, in _on_continue_clicked
    cb()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 234, in _on_continue_clicked
    nextAction = self._instantiateAction(self._actions[1])
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/__init__.py", line 77, in _instantiateAction
    obj = actionClass(self.data, self.storage, self.payload, self.instclass)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 1091, in __init__
    self.network_control_box.hostname = self.data.network.hostname
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/pyanaconda/ui/gui/spokes/network.py", line 960, in hostname
    self.entry_hostname.set_text(value)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gi/types.py", line 47, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
TypeError: Argument 1 does not allow None as a value
As you can see, I clicked continue twice, rendering the last errors again, which are very similar to the ones of Andabata,

with the wireless switch off, I also get some error lines printed, however far less, and the installer continues to the second screen (as does the net-install iso). If desired I will reboot to get these error lines as well.

Last edited by Jann5s; 15th January 2013 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th January 2013, 09:58 PM
Andabata Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

I had a USB dongle for internet access on another port and without it I can continue to second screen too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th January 2013, 08:10 AM
Jann5s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

See also this bug report: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=895752
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th January 2013, 10:45 AM
oliveryty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

Maybe just to much cpu load jams...

---------- Post added at 10:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:09 AM ----------

Maybe just too much cpu load jams...

---------- Post added at 10:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:09 AM ----------

Maybe just too much cpu load jams...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th January 2013, 11:42 PM
Ccming Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: [F18 live Desktop] Can't get past first question (language)

I encountered the same problem.

it said

INFO storage: error parsing blkid.tab: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/mnt/sysimage/etc/blkid.tab'
INFO storage: error parsing crypttab: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/mnt/sysimage/etc/crypttab'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, f18, language, live, past, question

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foreign language in Live KDE ? jenaniston Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 6th July 2011 10:10 PM
live cd can't get past login arizray Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 8th December 2008 02:14 AM
Question about language. maengyi Using Fedora 4 1st November 2007 02:06 AM
Question about language support Reisswolf Using Fedora 2 19th January 2007 12:00 AM
c language question jeremyreed Using Fedora 4 6th February 2006 01:15 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:04 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat