Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th January 2017, 03:18 PM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
F25 stuck in the console

Hi
Have F25 on an Asus laptop. I upgraded from F24 couple of weeks ago, never had any problem. But suddenly I booted today to find that there is no way (for me at least) to get into Gnome.
The two attachments are what I get from the console at startup.
If I try startx, that message is the only thing I reiceive.
Is there another method that re-installing everything from scratch?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo-2017-01-07-15-59-30_0967.jpg (91.7 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg Photo-2017-01-07-16-00-49_0968.jpg (113.6 KB, 55 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th January 2017, 12:19 AM
dswaner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 222
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Is there any more information in the X log files - the one in the home directory (shown in the photo) and/or the one in /var/log? Are there any other error messages in the journal or dmesg?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th January 2017, 02:17 PM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Here there should be some errors I found in the journal (jpegs) and the Xorg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg journalctl 1.jpg (105.4 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg journalctl 2.jpg (117.1 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg journalctl 3.jpg (115.7 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg journalctl 4.jpg (124.8 KB, 26 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Xorg.pdf (32.7 KB, 35 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th January 2017, 04:16 PM
dswaner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 222
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

The Xorg error message "dbus-core: error connecting to system bus: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.FileNotFound (Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory)" seems most informative to me. I don't know what to do about it, other than, as you mentioned, reinstalling. You could try "# dnf reinstall dbus" first, before reinstalling everything. Also, it might be interesting to try running "dbus-run-session -- bash" first and then run startx, just to maybe get more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th January 2017, 05:04 PM
dswaner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 222
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

You could also do an "# rpm --verify dbus" - if that comes back clean, reinstalling dbus probably won't help. Were there any upgrades right before it broke (# dnf history)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th January 2017, 05:20 PM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Tried to reinstall dbus, but nothing changed.
I run a dnf history, to check that there were no upgrades, I just installed and removed qt5*-devel and gcc-c++

So I guess I am going for the total reistall...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th January 2017, 12:04 AM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,527
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

You might like to try so see if it's gnome that is interfering with the X start up. This is a problem I've had on a few computers over the years.You could test it out by trying to start up a window manager from the console. You need to boot to a console and login there. A simple way to do this is to install xterm and also a window manager like openbox or twm before you start. Then at the console run:
Code:
xinit
If it works, it should bring up an xterm in X. Then you can start a window manager with:
Code:
openbox &
and run in the gui.

Last edited by nsnbm; 9th January 2017 at 03:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th January 2017, 08:31 AM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Tried your suggestion. Something happened, but don't really know what
Installed xterm and openbox, launched xinit but then, when I launched Openbox, I was returned just with this message:
[1] 1924

Tried again, and:
Openbox-Message: A window manager is already running on screen 0

Do you know what does it mean?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th January 2017, 10:53 AM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,527
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Good. Looks like you got your X running and openbox as well. That "[1]1924" refers to the process number that openbox is running on the system. That can be checked by looking at /proc/1924/cmdline which will output the word "openbox" indicating that it's the command associated with that process number. So, the gui seems to be up. The problem is now how to use openbox, but that's a different matter to the initial problem where the pics in post #1 showed a failure to get to a gui at all. I don't usually run openbox, but I suggested it here as a testing item. When openbox runs, you can maximise and minimise the screen using the mouse on the top right hand corner. If you minimise and lose sight of your xterm, then you can hit the middle mouse button and it should bring up a menu from which you can restore the terminal, and you can run any gui application in the xterm e.g. firefox, gedit etc. You can open a number of xterms and move them around the screen with the mouse by grabbing them in the title bar with the left mouse button. It's basic use of the gui but as I mentioned, if the gui runs with openbox, (which runs on top of X), then X is up and working, and that may implicate gnome as having a part to play in the original problem. Modern gnome makes large demands on the video hardware, but I could only speculate as to why it stopped working after working properly for some time on your computer. Maybe an update is implicated.

That second message "Openbox-Message: A window manager is already running on screen 0" would be correct because you already had the openbox window manager running on the system. Evidently you tried to run it again in the xterm which it was already running. That first xterm is all you need to run any other gui application ... you just need to know the command of the application you wish to run.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th January 2017, 04:03 PM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Great!
Thanks for the detailed explanation!
So, if the problem is or could be gnome, do you think that trying to install something else like KDE would do?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th January 2017, 02:53 AM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,527
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Yes. I would actually install a lighter desktop environment like lxde. There are plenty of otheres to choose from so you can you can try them out. The lightest way to go is just having a window manager rather than a desktop environment, but it's what you'd prefer that matters.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th January 2017, 08:20 AM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Ok.
The problem here is this: I installed cinnamon, when I start the system I get the login screen, but if I login nothing happens, I get a blank screend and then the login again...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th January 2017, 10:36 PM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,527
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

I can offer some thoughts but unfortunately I don't use cinnamon. There's info on installing desktop environments here:
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Switc...p_Environments

The first thing I would suggest is to search the forums for info on this problem which I think has appeared from time to time. There may be a solution there. Failing satisfaction there, below are some thoughts.

The display manager on your machine appears to be GDM, the gnome display manager. Normally it allows you to choose desktops to run. If it's not working as intended, you could try installing another display manager like lightdm. Then, you need to make the newly installed display manager the default by making sure that /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service is a link pointing to the lightdm display manager. If that link doesn't appear after installation of lightdm, you can make it yourself on the command line with something like:
Code:
ln -s /usr/lib/systemd/system/lightdm.service /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service
and reboot. I'm not sure of the actual name of the lightdm.service file, so you'd need to check that and insert it in this command, run as root.

In the past I've also had the trouble you describe with logging in and resolved it in various ways. bear in mind this is historical. One way was to change my password in the console, or have root change my password and reboot. You might like to try that first because it's simpler than installing another display manager. Whilst that has worked on occasion, it's also failed at times, so another approach was to remove the offending display manager altogether and install another. When all that's failed I have had to re-install a non-gnome spin ... which has always worked but is a last resort.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th January 2017, 10:32 AM
Gennaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 16
macosfirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

Wow, thank you so much for these detailed explanations!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th January 2017, 11:51 AM
nsnbm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,527
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F25 stuck in the console

There is another thought: GDM uses wayland and not X by default, so you could try and get it to use X and see if that makes a difference. To do that you need to disable Wayland in the file /etc/gdm/custom.conf by uncommenting the "WaylandEnable=false" line, that is, remove the # from the start of the line. Sorry I didn't mention this before, but it may not make any difference anyway. Dunno. Worth a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
console, f25, login, startx, stuck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force text console as primary console gbuergisser Using Fedora 0 23rd November 2011 02:38 PM
Stuck at grub console after install bergt2 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 9th December 2009 02:26 AM
Starting a serial console on bootup (but keep KVM console) ocgltd Hardware & Laptops 0 7th September 2008 05:38 PM
Stuck in GUI HELP! swinterry Using Fedora 38 20th May 2008 02:41 AM
C++ Windows console to Linux Console porting Gav Programming & Packaging 4 14th June 2005 06:11 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:45 (Thursday, 20-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat